Skip to content

Eco Craft Project

April 25, 2011


New project!

I recently just picked up a new project with a former industrial design professor Steve Chininis and my designer-extraordinaire roommate Joyce. We are going to design an arts-and-crafts product for kiddies made out of ecological materials. Ecological materials is very broad right now, we are looking into some recycled fibers and other things.

Its the type of product kids would make at school or camp. They can paint it, write on it, glitterize it and then take it home. Can’t wait to start brainstorming. I hope I can come up with a material that is somewhat educational and fun to talk about as well as a good medium for creativity. Its fun returning to the age of 8 and thinking about what the coolest out-of-this-world craft project would be that I couldn’t wait to go home and tell my mom about.

I am not sure if I’ve ever mentioned it before, but the main work I am involved in right now is designing medical devices for vaccination outreach programs in developing countries. It is fantastic, challenging design work that I really enjoy… but it will be nice to have this side project as an outlet for some silliness.

Man, I love industrial design. There is such a wide range of things to create!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

