Skip to content

Grad School.

June 24, 2010

It is official. I have decided to apply to graduate school for fall 2011.

I am currently teetering between two majors. I am very passionate about both of them:

Public Health or Environmental Engineering. I really want to bring my design skills and innovate the current systems in these fields. Design new ways to transport medication in developing countries. Design household products that measure energy in ways that have not been conceived yet. There are so many exciting opportunities!

Eeeenie, meeenie, minie, moo .. alright, I know I can’t decide that way. In my mind the two fields are so interconnected! I wish I could do both. I have to come to a decision soon though!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2010 21:55

    I place my vote for Environmental Engineering!
    I’m studying Architecture at the moment (second year) and I’d love my major to be sustainable architecture; the idea combining my passion for architecture and my will to contribute for a better environment and living seems perfect!

    I spent a year studying Mining and Metallurgical Engineering, although it wasn’t what I wanted; most of the courses at later semesters are common with Environmental Engineering. What I learned is that studying the means to make a change for the environment is overwhelming; also, engineering in general is very versatile; I think you could easily use your knowledge to do whatever you wanted. In Public Health, on the other hand, I suppose your studies wouldn’t be that compatible with your causes – you’ll need a lot more work to find ways to combine your career and your will to help the world.

    (that sounds a bit funny since it’s a major in Public Health, but I hope you get what I mean!)

  2. July 2, 2010 13:47

    Thanks for the comment Kynthia!

    I see what you mean… I am applying for grad school Fall of 2011 so I have a little time to think more about my future. I am so glad I decided to take a year off! A year ago I had no idea what I wanted to focus on. I will keep you posted on my decisions… who knows, in a few months I might have something else on my mind.

    I recently found some interesting programs in public health that focus on environmental health. However, I am also finding that a lot of programs require 2 years work experience before entering the program! A lot to think about …

Leave a Reply

