Skip to content

Success at Amerlux!

May 25, 2010


(above is a poster used to market the Closed Loop changes around the office in July 2009)

Last summer I worked at Amerlux Lighting Solutions in Fairfield, New Jersey as a marketing intern. That summer I unleashed Closed Loop on the employees and offered them my help in making the workplace there more sustainable. For example, there was no paper recycling system in place, paper cups were abundant, and lights were left on in empty offices overnight.

I got a message from an engineer there the other day saying they still use ceramic mugs! Woohoo! What a great team. There was  fantastic group of about 12 that regularly attended Closed Loop meetings and were eager to make changes in the workplace.

I will have to follow up with them again soon and see how that paper recycling is going…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer Carlson permalink
    May 26, 2010 13:03

    That’s great! You definitely have influenced me! We still recycle in the new apartment, and while we don’t compost anymore, it feels weird to me to throw away my coffee grounds and eggshells.

    • May 26, 2010 13:14

      That is awesome that you guys still recycle! My sister does not compost either — it feels really weird to throw away scrap vegetables. I am going to try to convince her to though… its amazing how much less trash you produce just be composting food.

      There really needs to be some sort of city-composting-center!

Leave a Reply

