Skip to content

I want to be a designer.

April 18, 2010

But, I don’t want to work at just any design firm. Every time I imagine myself working in a design firm —  I hate it. I can just imagine myself in front of a computer solidworks-ing the next great remote control thinking “why… am… I … doing this… ”

I don’t want to design new toothbrushes, vacuums, and other mass produced products that don’t provide solutions to real problems. Of course, toothbrushes and vacuums solve legitimate problems, but does there need to be 100 different kinds of each?

I am 3 weeks away from graduating from Georgia Tech with a B.S. in industrial design. I am excited to graduate, but also a little nervous, and definitely nostalgic.

As of now, I do not have any full time job lined up after graduation. I have an internship at the Department of Natural Resources that will end in August and then I will have to find something else to do…

Should I just take whatever job I can get and deal with internal moral issues that I am another designer producing future landfill waste? Or be selective about my job search and hope that an awesome, sustainably-minded firm is hiring?

I am growing pessimistic and am not sure that right job is out there for me. Plus there is the building stress of earning enough money to save up for rent and (hopefully) being able to afford health insurance…

Or maybe I am viewing this all wrong. Perhaps I should take whatever job I can get and try to influence them in making environmentally conscious decisions as much as possible.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Farzee permalink
    April 20, 2010 12:58

    Please don’t let the negative consume you; I agree that the right job is not easy to grab but they are out there: forget the middleman and make appoints with the head of the companies that you would like to work for and let them know that you are their best candidate to fill that one important spot and prove that to them and it will be more of a positive chance to give you a chance. Majority of companies do not know that a fresh graduate – a gem is out there. They are looking as hard as you are: tap in your human resourses. Congratulations and good luck.

  2. April 20, 2010 22:39

    This sentiment seems to have permeated through a lot of recent and soon-to-be graduates. The whole industry of Industrial Design needs to adapt to current sustainability issues or it will be in trouble. It is becoming more and more unattractive to young designers. It is up to creative people to redefine how we meet the needs of consumers and make money and not create more waste. Sounds like a fun design problem to me. : )

  3. May 2, 2010 06:03

    Tu shay! (that’s Americanized). I’m in a similar boat, but I definitely see the need for us at everyday firms. The secret guardians of the environment applying sustainable solutions to our client’s (or company’s) work. I think that perhaps this attitude of not willing to do anything that is unsustainable is the problem with the “hippy” mentality. The bottom line must consider cost and the state of the real world. If green companies don’t make money, they die, and who’s making better toothbrushes then? You have to be optimistic for the future but realistic now. So go, look for that product job (if the green one’s aren’t hiring, possibly because they aren’t making enough money) and LEARN. Get EXPERIENCE. Then plan your next move from there.

Leave a Reply

