Skip to content

Working at the Department of Natural Resources

April 6, 2010

Last week I started a new internship at the Georgia Department of Natural Resources (GDNR)! I will be working in the Sustainability Division of GDNR. I have a hybrid position there as a communications + technical intern.

On the communications side, I will be helping the staff put together publications like newsletters that update companies and politicians about the progress that the Sustainability Division makes. Graphic design has never been my favorite field, but I am going to put my graphic skills to work to make sure these newsletters are interesting and fabulous!

I am (more) excited about the work I will be doing as a technical assistant. As a tech assistant, I will go on site visits with the Division’s engineers and help complete energy and pollution evaluations of companies and factories. One of my career goals is to be a multidisciplinary designer who is fluent in engineering and design and uses both skills to improve the final outcome of a product. I can’t wait to work with some engineers on these site visits. I haven’t gone on any yet, but hopefully I will get the chance to go on one soon!

I have worked for small corporations or LLCs, but never a government organization before… we’ll see how this goes…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 01:59

    A what up? Found your blog in the treehugger forum. Nice to see someone else go green and actually caring for our planet. This is an article that I found that I know you will love. I sure do.
    Enjoy!

    Share it with everyone.

    http://viralviews.net/links/2665

  2. April 13, 2010 21:27

    Hi Krystal,

    This sounds like a great position and opportunity for you! Congratulations!

    Tanya

  3. Farzee permalink
    April 15, 2010 03:23

    Congratulations! It is an experience with hopefully room to grow. Learn some more and grab the good and make your future and be happy.Their is few jobs out there; seek the right one and things will fall into place. Good luck in all you seek.

Leave a Reply

