Skip to content

NPO, LCC, INC, What?

August 6, 2009

So over the past few weeks I have been debating where I think Closed Loop can go. My first instinct was it should be an NPO (non-profit organization).  However, after talking to my friend Rohit, who works for the ONE campaign, he explained to me that maintaining an NPO takes a lot of money and a lot of man power. Both of which I don’t have. You have to collect some odd thousand and designate it here and there. Have a board of directors, meetings, etc. 

But… right now it is just me, one person, with a cause doing some work in my spare time. So he suggested that the best bet for me would to just declare myself a consultant for design sustainability. I can help out companies, homes, schools (like I am with Amerlux), and use that as my consultant-portfolio. Since I need some financial help to get started, I can collect donations now from family and friends explicitly saying “this donation does not apply for any tax exemptions”. Then use that money to pay for marketing materials, website upkeep, and other things that you need to do starting off. Then later on, I can charge clients for consulting services. Then donate a % of the profits to environmental NPOs that I choose.

I think this plan could work…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. cris permalink
    August 10, 2009 18:54

    It seems like the best way it could work would be to get a degree involving this. Your ID is getting there, but add in an environmental factor and this could really work. Just seems like the “consultant” title would work a lot better if there were a degree behind it.

    Like you were saying, doing it nonprofit now and then charging and making a viable business after you have a degree under your belt!

  2. September 3, 2009 15:27

    Cris-

    I apologize this reply is really delayed. I definitely agree with what you’re saying but at the same time I am torn… I am not really sure what I am going to do after I graduate. I know I want a graduate degree eventually, but maybe I’ll take a year off first.

    Degrees I am thinking about are:
    + Environmental Sciences
    + Environmental Engineering
    + Environmental Public Policy

    or.. an M.S. in industrial design. I feel like all those degrees could help me in the direction I want to go in…

Leave a Reply

