Skip to content

Practice what you preach

June 28, 2009

I’ve got a couple projects cooking in New Jersey…here is the first one…

Amerlux-Global P8922C tg

I started working at Amerlux, a lighting company, for the summer. It is located in Fairfield, NJ. I worked there last summer too doing some conceptual design work. I was pretty timid working there last summer. It was one of my first “real” jobs and I did not want to do anything wrong and get fired. My father also works at Amerlux part-time as an electrical/computer service person. So, I did not want to embarass him in any way. Anyways, this year I am more in the groove of working there. The other day I was talking to my office mates Mary and GG. Mary and GG both have very environmental consciouses. The three of us being talking about how some practices at Amerlux are so so horrible for the environment. AND we claim to be an eco company! I think the Amerlux company is doing a great job because some of the products are more energy efficient in terms of LED-use and manufacturing. BUT employees are not environmentally conscious, if they were perhaps they could produce even more efficient products? I hate hate hate when companies do not “practice what they preach”! It really pisses me off when companies do this… and now I am working at one! Yikes! I don’t want to do this. No, I am not going to quit my job. Mary, GG, and I are going to try to revolutionize the Amerlux workplace…

Our first order of business is getting rid of the paper-cup use. Most employees will keep using paper cups when they want coffee, water, etc. This equates to maybe 3 paper cups PER employee every day! That is a lot! The Amerlux kitchen has a sink so it is not like we do not have the facilities to wash real glass cups or ceramic mugs. Beyond that, we even have a working dishwasher! I don’t think it has ever been used. I just noticed it a few days ago and I worked there for months last year.

Mary, GG, and I are going to call a meeting to discuss this matter. I compiled some of my Closed Loop presentation and I am going to present the research that I did and why Amerlux should switch to glass and ceramic ware. Tomorrow Mary, GG, and I are going to look over the presentation I put together today and then we are going to go to the boss and ask for a full-employee meeting. Hopefully we get permission to hold the meeting! If not, we will have to ask people to gather on their lunch breaks. I’m really glad GG and Mary are in on this movement with me!

Next is recycling all the scraps from the factory… paper recycling (I know, we don’t even have PAPER recycling)…and much more…

check out the amerlux “energy sustainability” page

also check out the “energy observer” a monthly green newsletter

Wish me luck!

Krystal

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2009 14:00

    yeah go get them!

    and if it doesn’t work out like planned, get some inspiration:

    http://www.passiveaggressivenotes.com/

    cheers

  2. July 14, 2009 22:58

    Sorry this is delayed Philip >> that link is awesome!! Hopefully it won’t come to that 😛

Leave a Reply

