Skip to content

Let’s Talk Dirty.

April 20, 2009

The day has come. I have created DIRT! After months of being too lazy to go to Johan’s Garden (a mere 5 minute bike ride away) I have created dirt in my very own apartment. I’m so proud it is weird. I created something useful; something that can be used to sustain other lifeforms.

p1010500

Yes this mixture of hair, bread, and fruit peels is a little grotesque to look at BUT it is a beautiful process. Notice the brown rings around the container. They are higher than the current food pile, which means that the food is breaking down and compressing at the bottom. I’ve proded to the bottom of the pile and saw some gritty textured food remains (DIRT)! I also saw some gnats… but I will solve that problem in another post.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

