Skip to content

Paperback. Paper book. Plastic book?

April 13, 2009

FINAL PRESENTATION IN ONE MONTH!! What should I do? I can’t use any paper or materials! Or can I? Is that too extreme of a sustainable outlook? Or is it totally valid. What do you think?

Sidenote: I’m going to Paris for a few days! I will be back Thursday 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. philip permalink
    April 20, 2009 19:00

    ok its me again, i just watched your video now & i have just some random thoughts. generally i dont think that its wrong if you design a paper book. i mean paper can be recycled very well, and its some sort of natural material, so wheres the problem? i dont get claus’s point here.
    so, your project is about trash, so why not put the presentation on (future) trash? like the cups in our mensa, you know which have some different advertising every week. that way you get the people right in the moment of producing trash & they might actually think about it…
    or maybe you can do an audio guide? sth that people can download and listen to on their computer/mp3 player.

  2. April 20, 2009 21:04

    hey krystal!!
    You´re project really made me think about “trash”. Now I can´t thorugh anything away, without thinking what will happen with it. I also think that you have the best location ever. Sweden is really a pioneer when it comes to recykling, so where else if not here. And it´s also good that you use your creativity not for producing something new, what will sooner or later become trash. But really thinking about something useful and necessary. And you are not just talking about this idea, you are living it! So you´re are not talking about water but drinking wine, you are living with this trash and this is really cool!!

  3. Travis permalink
    April 20, 2009 23:04

    Hmm…well, I can sort of see his point on paper, but…in terms of true documentation, paper is the only real reliable source, even if it is paper that is being repurposed for the documentation, which could be valid (although I guess you have been recycling that?)…although if I had a professor/advisor tell me what he told you, I would probably just present a black screen and tell him it’s all there, but since the color black is more energy efficient than white on a computer screen, using any other color would be wasteful.
    Or you could make your own paper, although I don’t know if you have those resources available. A fibers project could be good, placing documentation on something that is usable, like a blanket or something. There are a lot of ways to get paper that isn’t necessarily unsustainable…well, in my eyes, I guess.

    • April 21, 2009 06:33

      My friend Linda Pei replied on facebook…

      “how sustainable is the internet?
      all the resources used to sustain the internet community also have to come from somewhere.
      electricity that keeps computers, servers, modems, etc running. where does that come from? does it come from a coal burning power plant, or a dam”

      just to add her comment as well.

Trackbacks

  1. Is the Internet Sustainable? «

Leave a Reply

