Skip to content

Product Paranoia

February 22, 2009

Ok, so maybe I was thinking a little crazy before when I was cooking. But, it really freaked me out. My sister suggested it could be some sort of reaction with the acidity of the lemon and the garlic. I am not sure if I am settling with that answer yet, I am still a little paranoid. The thought of scary plastics, poorly tested materials, and new health-hazards that are being discovered everyday is really starting to get to me. Every time I pick up a product will I have to mentally go through a checklist of safety precautions to make sure it is REALLY okay for me to use? Last time I checked that is the job of designers/engineers… has there been a shift of responsibilities? When the priorities of products shifted from really solving problems to just making a profit, maybe the reponsibility of engineers and designers to make sound projects shifted to the user so that the BUYER now has to be cautious of what he chooses to use. But shouldn’t all products be top-notch quality (and at least safe to use?). Its like I have hypochondria except applied to products… I think they are harmful in some way or another even though they are (hopefully) probably okay.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cristal permalink
    February 22, 2009 23:51

    I’ve been looking it up online, and from what I’ve read garlic often turns green when mixed with acids, especially when it’s older. You said you’ve had it for over a month, from what I’ve read (I’ll post it below) garlic, once broken from the bulb that you get it in, can last 3-10 days, or unbroken from the bulb can last 6-8 weeks. So maybe it just got too old and easily reacted with the lemon juice? That probably makes the most sense.
    Don’t get too paranoid!!

    http://www.recipezaar.com/library/getentry.zsp?id=165

    or http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=60 you have to scroll down a bit on this one to see the storage info

  2. February 24, 2009 11:17

    Hi! Your green garlic is probably edible. But if you think about the risks as side effects of the production of wealth or glory they don’t exist until they’re scientifically proven. If you think about DDT or CFCs or anything similar in production or agriculture causing illness and hazards for common people the polluters are considered not guilty until proven. The burden of scientifically proving the hazards then falls to the non-scientist people suffering from them instead of the engineers who work for the companies benefiting from them. The economical interest creates the tendency for denial. For example the tobacco industry in US. It took ages to admit that smoking might be unhealthy. And yep, I was just reading Ulrich Beck’s Risk Society. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Risk_society

    • krystalpersaud permalink
      March 1, 2009 09:37

      Taneli >> This is so true! And something I sometimes really fear about becoming a designer. It is a lot of responsibility to design something that people will use, and if designed wrong could seriously harm them. Companies keep benefiting and people are (possibly unknowingly) in danger. But for example, if I have a boss who is just interested in profit and selling million of a horrible product that I am expected to design… I definitely could not do it. Are there successful, honest businesses out there?

Leave a Reply

