Skip to content

Check Point: 20 days

February 19, 2009

So, it has been 20 days since the beginning of the experiment. By now I half-expected my room to be like filled with trash and infested by flies. I thought my wall mosaic would be more impressive by now, but it is not. It is actually pretty pathetic. After a while I learned to not bring home items that I couldn’t use. The experiment results so far really do not meet my expectations. I guess that is a good thing though.

Accomplishments:

+ A composting system is established! I put my food waste into a bin and then periodically put it in Johan’s garden compost pile. But, if i didn’t have a nearby friend with land property… and just lived in a single apartment.. what would I do?

Upcoming:

+ A follow up with the trash-burning company, SYSAV. I have contacted them with a few questions I had mentioned in the trash burning video.

+ A follow up with Maria Wall, part of the environmental engineering faculty at LTH. She is currently working on a project dealing with sustainability in homes as well. I contacted her wanting to meet up and get the specific information on what kind of work she does (and maybe how it relates to my research).

Some Pictures:

garbage pile

Garbage pile on the corner of my kitchen counter…

soft plastic

lots and lots of soft plastic packaging

melon peels

some melon peels drying by the window sill

heart kitchen

you gotta love the kitchen

i heart pizza

I heart frozen pizza

wall mosaic

The wall mosaic that is not growing very fast after all.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2009 07:35

    really cool experiment! 🙂 i like the melon peel idea.

  2. Adam Graiser permalink
    February 22, 2009 02:51

    I like the hearts in the kitchen. I’m assuming the rest of the cardboard gets recycled. How hard is that in Sweden?

  3. krystalpersaud permalink
    February 22, 2009 15:50

    b >> Thanks! You should try it. You get to eat melon AND decorate your apartment.

    adam >> Yes, the rest of the cardboard is going to be recycled. Recycling receptacles in Sweden are really great. All the apartment complexes I have been too have bins for a lot of different materials (plastic, glass, cardboard, paper, aluminum). Especially in the studios in the design building here have all of these things and more (there is a bin for other metals to be recycled in the workshop).

Leave a Reply

