Skip to content

Plastic Pepper = oxymoron.

February 7, 2009

Next order of business: what do you do with soft plastics? Like the stuff you find on everyday packaging. I bought a pepper a couple days ago  that was wrapped in plastic. I dont understand this… what if you just want a pepper without whatever poly-ephyl-ethyl-lane-late or whatever is on it. Seriously. That really bothered me.

1) Does wrapping a plastic packaging on vegetables make them more appealing?

2) Is plastic becoming a symbol of cleanliness? Like the veggie is less contaminated that way?

3) Maybe people are grossed out that people touch the same pepper and put it back in the store?

I feel like whatever plastic compound is on that pepper is probably doing more harm than good. Honestly, say that pepper was shipped from Florida.. and in the back of the truck it was.. 85 degrees Fahrenheit… I’m sure we have all heard by now that plastics + heat = trouble. So now we have a pepper with gross chemicals on it that leaked off the plastic when it was unintentionally heated up during transportation (which is another issue alltogether we will discuss another time). Ok and a pepper in Sweden wouldn’t be shipped from Florida.. sometimes I forget I am not in Atlanta anymore 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2009 01:19

    Wrapping helps to fight the flies. Otherwise I think you can buy most of the veggies without wrapping from ICA but I wonder what you gonna do with all those stickers…

  2. Cristal permalink
    February 7, 2009 02:51

    I’m sure they’ve done some kind of tests to see what effects the plastics would have on the veggies. I’m guessing its main purpose is keeping it clean in the potentially long process of getting it from farm to kitchen. All sorts of bacteria or germs could get on them and could be worse than plastic.

    Just makes it more appealing to buy straight from a farmers market or grow it yourself. Generally they taste better, are in better shape, and don’t have any kinds of hormones or anything on it, and you know exactly whats gone into the making of them (if you grow it yourself that is).

    And can you not just recycle the soft plastics with your other recycleables?

  3. Cristal permalink
    February 7, 2009 02:52

    I mean I guess you could use it again if its a big enough piece, but then you get into the plastic chemicals question again.

  4. krystalpersaud permalink
    February 7, 2009 07:54

    taneli >> aha flies! I didn’t think about that issue… I think it brings up again the locally grown vs. imported topic. maybe if they were locally grown and sold flies would be less of a problem? I am not so sure, I am no farmer, but interesting to think about…

    cristal >> at my recycling center, I cannot. But I will email my facilities manager and see if/where I can definitely. Yeah, it is just like plastic wrap I guess..

  5. February 7, 2009 12:01

    That’s probably true and at least in Scandinavia many people buy locally grown vegetables if possible, even during the winter when they cost at least the double compared to imported ones. That’s mostly because they think it’s more clean and has not been filled with chemicals and shipped from the other edge of the world, or because they’re patriotic and want to support the local farmer. But it’s not actually very ecological to grow veggies in Sweden or Finland during the winter. It takes an enormous amount of energy, which is then produced by burning coal or in a nuclear plant, so that you can’t actually say which are the more ecological ones in your supermarket. Then there is also the fact that even though it costs double, the local vegetable is highly subsidised by the state and that’s one of the big controversies in te dispute between the rich north and the poor south whose main export items are veggies and fruits. So either you’re unecological and surrounded by flies (imported) or you’re unecological and protectionist possibly without the flies (local). Not a very pleasent choice…

Leave a Reply

